Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-20-2010, 01:55 PM - 5 Likes   #1
Forum Member

I am a pro shooter and here is why I am so excited for my K-5 to get here tomorrow

Long time lurker, first time poster...

Like I said I am a pro shooter. I am the head shooter for the University of Colorado athletic program, as well as a landscape and portrait photographer. It is not my main job (I am finishing up my PhD in neuroscience) but it is a huge passion and actually pays a lot of the bills these days.

My first DSLR was a pentax K10D because of the combo of features and price. My pro career was launched when a picture I took after work of Folsom field went viral via CU alums.

****'em up, ****'em up, go CU | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

I was contacted by the CU athletic dept out of the blue and they asked me to come shoot for them, so serendipity has been on my side and I have never looked back.

even got a shot in nat geo using the trusty K10D:

When Gods Watch... | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

The university bought me a K20D, so I have extensive experience with that camera as well. I also recently won a nikon d90 and have gotten quite a lot of experiance with that body as well. I also have rented the nikon D3s on multiple occasions.

I know a lot of people in this forum are not really into HDR photography, but for me it is a passion. Little did I know when I bought the K10D, but it was just about the best camera for HDR that money could buy (and it still holds up great in many regards, the only camera with better bracketing options is the Mark III/IV, and the CCD has pretty nice DR). Needless to say I actually like the results for landscape, and handheld HDR much better than the K20D.

Now to the K-5, here is why it is pretty much my dream camera and why it may keep me in pentax for a long time to come (I was dreaming of a mark iv but those desires have really subsided)