Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-23-2012, 03:20 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
One Week With My New K-5......My Thoughts...

Well folks it has been one week now that I have had my K-5 and I absolutely love this piece of equipment. Now-I am no pro at photography, in fact I still consider myself a mere novice, however I will be doing my first paid gig tomorrow, it is a small paying gig with some friends but it's a gig non the less, wish me luck.
After a year and two months handling my K-x and relearning photography on a DSLR I finally bit the bullet and got a new K-5, and am not regretting it one bit.
I have spent most of my time this last week studying the manual and playing with all the new settings on my camera and so today I actually went out with my wife (she sported the K-x) on a little nature walk/photo shoot. This is a whole new thing that we have discovered that we like doing together. It was cloudy today and actually I like shooting in overcast weather. I packed my total mixmatched bag of lenses along and took many shots utilizing most all of them. I really want to put my Old Vivitar lenses through the motions and I am actually impressed with them.
Now back to the camera, this thing has all the buttons and controls right where I need them, I can actually find my way around this camera a lot easier than I did with my K-x, although I still feel that the K-x is an outstanding camera and we will keep it no matter what.
I really like how solid this thing feels in my hands, how quiet it is, and how easy it is to use, it doesn't make me any better of a photographer, but it makes everything easier for me as a photographer.
One of the most useful things I found with this camera was (believe it or not) the LCD screen on top of the camera, I find that I use that mostly, other than that I use the VF read out, I never really use the rear LCD but for chimping my images.