Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-13-2011, 06:02 PM   #1

6X7 Metered Prism

Hi folks, I'm new to the Pentax 6X7 and to this forum as well. I've just bought one off of flea bay, but still have not gotten my lens yet. In going over the camera, I noticed that the metered prism would not turn on. Does a lens have to be attached for the prism to turn on?
Also, the film rewind lever seems to be very hard or stiff to turn. I'm use to the 35mm cameras so is that normal for this tank?
I'm sure these questions are answered in the owners manual, but I don't have one of those yet either. It too, however, is on the way. Looking forward to your replies and thanks.

09-13-2011, 07:03 PM   #2
Giveaway winner!

Photos: Albums
The 6x7 body should have a battery install and should then light up the test lamp. With this being all set, the meter contacts should be in good clean condition, they are located below the prism and on the opening for the prism. You say you have no lens yet... try both of these. ... I hope you review a manual anyway or I've lost you somewhere back there.

With all checked and prism properly mounted, look in the mount of the camera along the top flange opening for the lens. A metal tab rest inside, you should be able to move it from left to right... if facing it. That would be move a bit over to represent a lens mounted. So if you move it while looking through, you should see the meter move... turn on the meter first... if it works, you have operated the meter in "Auto" mode. If no, then it could be ASA not set high enough... or dead.

The second is the pin that sticks out of the lens release tab on the mount face to the right. That little pin is pushed when the lens is set to 'MANUAL' mode. Your meter has two modes and so while looking and pressing the pin the meter will jump to life in "stop-down" mode. If no... as above