Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-22-2010, 04:07 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Location: Living in Vancouver, BC, born in Melbourne Australia
Photos: Albums
Vancouver Architecture and my first outing with the K 28mm Shift

Hi all,

I was fortunate enough to come across a second hand K mount 28mm Shift Lens recently.

I'm an Architect and have been lusting after a copy of this lens ever since I heard about them (way back in the 80's)

I spent a couple of hours up at the Museum of Anthropology here in Vancouver on the weekend. It was designed by Arthur Erickson and who is perhaps one of the best known Vancouver based Architects. He passed away in 2009 leaving Vancouver with some of it's most adventurous buildings.

While on the shoot I was lucky enough to meet the Landscape Architect (Cornelia Oberlander) who was showing some friends around. The Reflection pond was in her original landscape design but was removed during the construction process due to budgetary constraints (Sounds like a familiar storey to me). It was added this year much to her joy and to the benefit of the building and its surrounds.

I intend to return to this building during the various seasons over the next year and will continue to post updates as I do so.

I'm going to post a couple of shots below, but you can see an Album of 10 shots (a couple taken with the Sigma 10-20) in my Museum of Anthropology Shoot 1 Album.

I would love any comments and critism on the images from a Photographic point of view. Any C and C from any other Architects in the crowd would also be most appreciated. I'll be shooting work for my office over the next year and the goal is to do the best job I can for them.

Here's a couple of the images. If you go to the Album, you'll be able to see the Metadata for each. I should note that there is minimal PP in these (dust spots etc). My aim is to get it right on site.

IMAGE 1

IMAGE 2

IMAGE 3

IMAGE 4

IMAGE 5

10-22-2010, 04:27 PM   #2