Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-03-2011, 02:21 PM   #1

Packing up...

Hello everyone, this is my second post in Pentax community as I'm whilling to buy a K-5 and I'm also very new to the DSLR world, so please, develop your explanations.

I've been researching for few days about which lens should I buy as soon as I get my camera, however, I'm having some issues regarding ''priorities" and maybe you can give me a hand or two. :P

First of all, I'm a traveler. I travel a lot during the year and I wherever I went my compact went with me, but now that DSLRs are more "accessible" I feel like I can go for a greater image quality product, as I want to save those photos on my PC for as long as I live in order to print some of them and keep the rest to remember the good times.

With that being said, I can't carry much weight around, but I do also want to have all the lens that I need in order to take the proper shots. As far as my concearns go, I found Primes lenses unecessary (obviously due to the lack of zoom and variety), because most of the times I'm traveling with a group and we explore many different places, so I don't have time to swap lenses that much (and it can get my lenses dirt :x). I do want to take high IQ photos, but I've noticed that Zoom lenses quality grew alot these years and I'm not worried on spending some extra bucket in order to gain more versatility without losing much quality.

So the best lens that I got on my list are all 9.0+ rated on this forums, because since I'm going to spend a good ammount of money I would like to be sure that ''they have it all'', so here they are:

A) Pentax-DA 10-17mm F3.5-4.5 Fish-Eye ED [IF]

B) Pentax-DA 12-24mm F4 ED AL [IF]
C) Sigma 17-50mm F2.8 EX DC OS HSM
D) Pentax-DA* 60-250mm F4 ED [IF] SDM

So my question is, did I need it all? do I need more?

My ''to buy'' order list looks like this atm: B > A > D > C