Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-08-2008, 07:32 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Next lens?

Hello,

I am wondering what my next lens should be. I know this is a highly personal matter but I'm up for a few suggestions. I currently have three lenses: smc Pentax-FA 1.4 50mm, smc Pentax-DA 4.5-5.6 50-200mm and smc Pentax-DA 3.5-5.6 18-55mm AL II.

What type of photography do I do the most? Who knows! I am an amateur photographer and dabble in about everything. Christmas, New Years and about 5 birthdays are coming up (seems our family likes winter babies), so maybe a good portrait lens that can be used indoors? I really like landscape photography. I was also thinking of a macro lens, though it has much less "practical" consideration for me personally as I am right now taking mostly pictures of things to for family memories.

I have a general range (18-200 overall). My 50mm prime is much better in clarity than either of the kit zooms (of course). At this point, I want to purchase only high quality lenses, eventually probably making my kit 18-55 and 50-200 obsolete in my camera bag.

I guess I am hoping to draw on the experience of others who were in my same shoes. What would be the best next lens for me? I was at my nephews birthday party yesterday and my 50mm was not wide enough to take some larger family shots and my 18-55mm required the use of the flash with the indoor lighting conditions, so I was initially thinking of a wide angle prime, or maybe the 12-20mm zoom but I am totally open to suggestions.

Thanks,

Jeremy

12-08-2008, 07:54 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

How much money do you want to spend? Are you looking for "Bang for the buck" or is money not an issue?

If you have about $400-$500 to spend a Sigma 10-20 would fill in the gap you have at the wide end nicely.
12-08-2008, 07:57 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by pentaxman Quote