Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 10 Likes Search this Thread
02-09-2009, 12:53 PM   #1
Forum Member

Why no love for Mamiya Sekor?

A while ago, I bought a Mamiya/Sekor 55mm 1.4 thinking it was one of those Tomioko lenses. When I received it, I was dissapointed to find out it wasn't. But, after I started shooting with it, it has turned into my favorite lens. It is sharper than my 50/1.4 S-M-C Tak wide open (not so stopped down a bit, but picks up again at around f/8), has better color rendition than my Sears Tomioko, and I actually like the feel and construction better than the rest of my 50's. My only complaint is it is quite large for a 55, especially compared to my super sharp Tak 55/1.8's.

The lens came in a lot with a Mamiya/Sekor 135mm 2.8, and this is a fabulous lens also. While I have no other 135mm primes to compare it to, I am consistently amazed by the shots. For candid portraits, my subjects seem to jump off the page. Also, it has great contrast and the colors seem to really pop.

I think these lenses appear to be the same as the Rolleinar MC and Voigtlander Color Ultron lenses. Does anybody know more about this?

Does anybody else have any similar experiences with Mamiya/Sekor? Does anybody have any complaints? Did I just get two unusually good copies?

Why don't these lenses get any hype? I see them selling on eBay for super cheap and can't figure out why (I hope this post doesn't drive up the prices, because I am looking to pick up some more).

02-09-2009, 01:20 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The Sears 55/1.4 is a Rikenon design (someone is selling one here that actually says that on the name ring...the first I've seen).

The 135/2.8 is also a Ricoh rebadge, seen commonly as Sears branded, once again. Ask any of us with Sears lenses...they're highly recommended...