Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-14-2007, 03:54 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Old friend fromthe Cold War era

So, I was checking out some old stuff today and I found this guy:

My 25-or-so year-old, Soviet-made Zenit MTO 500mm f/8 M42-mount mirror lens from when I was a student in Italy, and this was the only long tele I could even imagine to be able to afford.

It truly is built like a tank (weighs like one too), the focus is slow but very precise, and from what I remembered it behaved surprisingly well.

It could not mount on my Ds because the built-in flash was too close to the lens mount, but it fits just right with the K100D. So I was back in the backyard to see if it was indeed the case that this was a nice lens, or just that memories sweeten with time.

Alas, no bird in sight, so I took a shot of the empty birdfeeder:

cropped 100%:

and of a tree trunk:

and cropped 100%:

and finally a junco showed up - very jumpy fellow, didn't want to sit still so I had a hard time locking the focus (my eyesight ain't what it used to be!), but finally I got this:

and 100%:

Note: all pics are RAWs straight off the camera, converted with RSE with no pp , i.e. no sharpening at all. Of course, the bokeh is what it is (although I don't mind the donuts so much), and the colors and contrast are a tad flat (also, it is cloudy out here).

Still, amazing old geezer, isn't it?

Last edited by slomojoe; 05-02-2007 at 06:30 AM.
04-14-2007, 04:00 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Making me interested in 500mm again!!!

Nice photo btw!
04-14-2007, 05:53 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Those 500mm mirror lenses on eBay have really been peeking my interests lately, now this is really making me interested in getting one.
04-14-2007, 06:23 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Buddha Jones Quote