Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-04-2009, 01:43 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
cost effective telephoto 4 newbie

I am new to this system and can't find any discussion of mirror Vs straight telephoto lenses. I am sure there must be at least one thread somewhere, but I am not finding it. So I am posting my question here with my apologies to those who have read this discussion a thousand times.

What is the most cost effective way to try out long distance shooting? I don't want to dump a whole lot of money into something I might not like. I see that the mirror telephoto lenses are considerably cheaper than the straight lenses. Why is this and is the image quality what one might expect from a system that cost 1/10 what its competition costs? Or do they take good photos? Any recommendations for someone starting out on a budget?

What is the most cost effective way to get into wildlife? Do I have to buy a new lens? I do have a good 200 mm manual lens. Would an extender tube be more cost effective?

Thanks in advance for helping an ignorant newbie.

11-04-2009, 01:54 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
mirror lenses are generally not as high contrast, and usually low apertures i.e. F8 at 500 mm.

adding an extender to your existing 200mm lens will work and still give you AF capabilities if the lens is F2.8 to F4 depending on the magnification of the extender,
11-04-2009, 01:55 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I think the Tamron 70-300 is a great lens for the money. I've been using it more and more recently, and been pleasantly surprised. Its macro feature is pretty handy, too.
11-04-2009, 02:07 PM   #4

well based on my own experiance with mirror lenses i'd say save up and get something descent rather than trying to get there on the cheap

i got a 600mm sigma mirror and its not to bad but accurate manual focusing isn't easy and even when spot on its not that sharp