Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
02-19-2010, 06:31 AM   #1
Forum Member

To use UV filters or Not to use UV filters?HELP NEEDED

I am new to the DSL world. I have some questions in reguards to the filters. Now, Should I use them only for out side shots? Or, would you also use the UV filters for inside shots??
So far i just have 52mm and a 58mm Nikura optics filters.

02-19-2010, 06:40 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
You should use UV filters only when you need them. That could be at very high altitude or under very clear blue skies at the sea shore. In both cases an excess of UV light could be reduced by the UV filter.

If you want to protect the front element of your lens against damage, a UV filter can help. Especially in very dusty/sandy and windy conditions. So at the beach or if you are shooting in a dessert, this is a good idea. It can also be sensible to prevent the front element from rain and snow, if you are taking pictures under these circumstances at all.

In almost all other cases the mechanical protection the lens hood offers should be enough.

Whenever you shoot directly into light sources, (the sun during the day, bright specular highlights (those nice reflections on ripples or waves, or any mirror-like surface) or lighting devices at night, you should remove the UV filter. Even the best ones, will add reflections, ghosting and flareing under these conditions.

This is one of the most often discussed topics. So please use the search function and look for "UV filters" and you will find a wealth of controversy and information.

Ben

Last edited by Ben_Edict; 02-19-2010 at 07:12 AM.
02-19-2010, 06:48 AM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
Ben, Thank you so much for your reply. You really helped me there. !!!
I had taken shots indoosr with them on, because i forgot I had them on. But, after doing some reasearch and your answer..I do not need them inside..LOl..On me.