Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-15-2011, 01:50 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
An abandoned house
Lens: DAL 18-55 Camera: K-x ISO: 200 Shutter Speed: 1/350s Aperture: F8 

Here is my first sample pic using my new K-x. I am completely new to the DSLR world and still getting a hang of my new toy. This was shot in P mode, JPEG. Editing involved cropping, applying some warmth and added a border.

Let me know if this works.

02-15-2011, 01:54 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Here is the original version of the photo. Let me know how would you have composed/shot/edited this photo differently.

Forgot to mention that I use Picasa for editing. Have served me well for little editing I do with my photos. Yet to find a decent program to add different types of borders to photos.

02-15-2011, 02:20 PM   #3

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I love it!
02-15-2011, 05:11 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Nice

My only suggestion is one of cropping. For me, the right side of the photo is a little distracting. My eye seams pulled there. The larger building is the main show so I'd crop the right building to about two thirds of the right side of the roof. This would pull the focus back to the main building.

Once again, Nice Photo

joe

02-15-2011, 05:41 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by rachcobb Quote
I love it!
Thanks.

QuoteOriginally posted by joelovotti Quote
Nice

My only suggestion is one of cropping. For me, the right side of the photo is a little distracting. My eye seams pulled there. The larger building is the main show so I'd crop the right building to about two thirds of the right side of the roof. This would pull the focus back to the main building.

Once again, Nice Photo

joe
I tried that earlier but that leaves the smaller barn and the tree half cut in the frame which makes the photo seems incomplete. Thanks for the suggestion.