Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-03-2012, 08:34 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Star trails (first attempt)
Camera: Super A Photo Location: Lot Valley, France ISO: 200 Shutter Speed: Above 6s Aperture: F4 

I made my first attempt at star trails in rural France a week or so ago, using a 30-year-old Super A and some Fujicolour C200 film. The exposure was for 25-30 mins.

It's come out ok, but what's not so pleasing is the reproduction. There are weird lines running all over it, and I wondered if it has something to do with the quality of the film, the quality of the film processing, or some other factor that I have been responsible for. I have noticed that other daytime shots I have taken with the camera suffer a similar effect but it is much, much less noticeable.

Any thoughts or advice, or indeed advice on how to clean this up in Photoshop (I am a total novice) would be much appreciated!

Attached Images

09-03-2012, 09:03 AM   #2
Veteran Member

25-30 min. at f4ish with 200 film is what I used when I did my first serious star-trail expeditions this spring. So I think your settings are fine. You do have a lot of light pollution. Even in rural areas, long exposures will pick up anything from the horizon. Can you find a darker-sky area? I would also try for a little different foreground; maybe include a bit of the horizon with a wider angle lens... something a little more 'scenic' than the telephone pole.
I don't know what's going on with the lines. If it's all through your film -- IS it on the negatives? -- then you might want to get the camera checked. If it's not on the negatives then it could be your scanner. Have you printed from the negatives, & is it on the prints? If it's the negs, I don't know how I'd clean that up in Photoshop. Just too much to paint out. I think I'd call it an exposure test shot, move on & try another.
Star trail pix are a challenge but when they work it's lots of fun. Enjoy, & good luck