Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-07-2009, 12:44 PM - 14 Likes   #1

Photos: Gallery
Combat Photographer Tells All

I'm rather new to these forums, but in seeking advice on one of the other Pentax forums here, someone asked me to start a thread about my experience as a Combat Photographer......sooooo Here I am.
I was an Army Combat Photographer in Vietnam (1966-1967) and covered combat operations from one end of the country to the other.
First off, we were trained at Ft. Monmouth, New Jersey and the still photography course was about 2 or 3 months in length. Our training covered all the basics as well as aerial, combat, portraits, micro photography, .... pretty much everything you can imagine relating to photography.
We generally worked in two or three man teams and one of the team members would sometimes be a motion picture guy.
Once deployed to a unit, we stayed with them until our mission was completed. Most of our assignments were generally a "photojournalism" type mission although we'd occassionally get "special" assignment requests from various agencies, departments, etc.
Most of our guys shot primarily 35mm when in the field and were issued "state of the art" Pentax Spotmatics with 3 lenses and flash. I got lucky and ended up with a Leica M3 w/3 kit lenses and flash. I did however shoot the Pentaxes, Nikons, Canon and everything else.
No auto exposure, auto focus, auto-anything. One of the common phrases used back then was "f-8 and be there"
I don't know what else to add at this point, but I'll be happy to get into more specifics later (if ya'll desire it).
Bob Hillerby
Combat Photographer
B 1/9th Cav, 1st Cavalry Division (Airmobile)
Republic of Vietnam 1966-1967

07-07-2009, 01:02 PM   #2
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Some stories of the events you covered and if you are allowed some shots you took. I can't really imagine how tough this would have been.