Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
My very first time using a film camera
Lens: 50mm Camera: Pentax K1000 
Posted By: dorkatebluecandy, 08-29-2010, 06:49 PM

This is my first time using/owning a film camera. Here is a collection of photos that I took on my first go round

Attached Images

Views: 3,050
08-29-2010, 09:16 PM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Good start with these images - for your very first SLR shots.
You nailed focus reasonably well with those first 2 portraits - especially #2 (that one is delightful )
The stadium photos would have lended better (IMO) as landscapes as you could fit more of the action in the frame and not have so much negative space that doesn't add to the image all that much.
All the best in your photographic journey.
08-29-2010, 09:23 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Yay for another film user! What film did you use here?
I'm not sure if it's intended, but there appears to be some colour tint to the photos. If you were using a film like Kodak BW400CN (b&W film developed in colour negative chemicals), the colour tint can occur at scanning time if a monochrome or greyscale setting is not selected.
08-29-2010, 10:00 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Great shots! I particularly like the portrait of the girl and the first football shot (I really like the contrast of like and dark areas).

As goddo31 said, if you're scanning B&W film make sure you either scan as a monochrome or convert it to B&W in PP, otherwise there will be an odd colour caste to the image. With my scanner I've found that I end up with more dynamic range in the image if I scan at monochrome for some reason...

great work!

08-30-2010, 12:48 PM   #5
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
next stop: tHE zONE sYSTEM
08-30-2010, 01:01 PM   #6

Original Poster
Thank You all!

Thank you all for your feedback!
In reply to Ash, Thank you so much for the thoughts.
I will definitely keep those in mind.