Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-16-2013, 09:16 AM   #1
Ace

Should I purchase better camera or better lens?

I am a landscape photographer on a budget. I am looking into two option for a new purchase. Should I buy a K10d with the 15mm limited or a K5 with the kit lens? My main concern is image quality of raw shots. Everything I read says at low ISO the CCD of the K10d still produces great images. Does this still hold true compared to the newer cameras? Please let me know; buy the Good camera or buy the Good lens.

07-16-2013, 09:49 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Lens.
Great glass lasts nearly forever, and the 15mm Limited is great glass. The kit lens will degrade most of the advantage the K-5 sensor adds, unless you want the flexibility of a zoom and don't care about the softer (and not as wide) images. Also, the K10D is still a good camera for landscape/ tripod work! Bracket if the dynamic range in the raw files isn't enough for you...
07-16-2013, 10:11 AM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

QuoteOriginally posted by Ace Quote
I am a landscape photographer on a budget. I am looking into two option for a new purchase. Should I buy a K10d with the 15mm limited or a K5 with the kit lens? My main concern is image quality of raw shots. Everything I read says at low ISO the CCD of the K10d still produces great images. Does this still hold true compared to the newer cameras? Please let me know; buy the Good camera or buy the Good lens.
The K10D is way behind the K-5 in terms of image quality, but I agree with panoguy. A good lens on a bad camera is much better than a bad lens on a good camera!

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)